DIY Green Beauty

 

I had some time off from work and I have been busy on a DIY project where I made my own deodorant. I wasn’t the do it yourself girl until I saw a video on YouTube. I had no idea it was that easy to do it yourself so I decided I was going to give it a try. Believe it or not it only took me one try and I got it right. Now that I know how to do it I am going to experiment and make other product not just deodorant.

Before I get into how I made my own let me start by listing a few pros and cons of making your own products. Truth be told there really isn’t anything bad about making your own product. The only problem might be that it is time consuming. You can find most of these ingredients in any local pharmacy, health food store or supermarket. Even in your own Kitchen. What I love most about DIY products is that you choose what ingredients goes into it. There are different scents you can play around with and did I mention that it’s organic. And although it can be costly to buy these ingredients you will be saving a lot of money. The reason this is possible is because you are making enough to last you for as long as you need.

Your probably wonder how did I make my own deodorant right? The answer is simply because I only used 4 ingredients. Coconut oil, baking soda, mango oil and any essential oil of your choice.

Some people also use arrowroot or cornstarch. I prefer to only use baking soda I don’t want it to come out cakey. Please keep in mind that all these products I am using are what works for me, if you find that this isn’t working for you then you can always come up with your own formula. Please keep in mind that this was just a tester. I have an old deodorant from Tom’s that I have finished I am going to make more in there and use that. As for now I am just messing around until I find the right solution.

Below is the finish product. It came out a little oily which means I have to put more baking soda to tone down the oil. I also compared it with Tom’s deodorant and there isn’t much of a difference. Let me know what you think.

 

 

8 thoughts on “DIY Green Beauty

  1. Ooh I love DIY recipes! It always costs more in the beginning to buy all the ingredients but it definitely saves you money in the long run (and may be better for your body!). Thank you for sharing (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes DIY recipes can be expensive in the beginning especially when you don’t know what you’re doing but once you get the hang of it you’ll soon realize how much cheaper it is and the best part is you know exactly what ingredients is in the product using

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

