Going Green

 

 

For starters I would say about 2 and ½ years ago I was tired of putting a relaxer in my hair. I felt like I was doing the same thing everyday and I wanted a change. 

I had just moved to Florida and was planning on living there for the rest of my life. (LOL) I thought I wanted to live there forever but things happened. Anyway I was on this organic journey with my hair as for the way I was eating and the things I was putting on my skin that was another story. When I moved back to NYC I decided to go green all the way. Going green is something that I have always wanted to do but never did. Truth be told I was not educated enough with this topic. I thought going green meant making your own products or spending an arm and a leg for organic products. I also thought it meant eating foods that are nasty in taste. Which is somewhat true (LOL) Nonetheless I have grown and learned a thing or two about going green.

I have been on this decluttering journey and let me tell you it isn’t easy to get rid of the things you love. I mean these things were not necessary to have but I chose to consume more. Once I started to declutter I started reading the ingredients in the products I was using. I found aluminum in my deodorant. I thought to myself, “is this something I would eat?” It really bothered me to think that I am putting metal on my skin, metal. Not to mention words I could not pronounce let alone spell. That was when I took my other products and started my research. My hair products have already been 100% organic but my beauty and skin products were not. During my research I came to find that some chemicals can cause cancer and other life-threatening illness. I was killing myself slowly and the thought frighten me. I wanted nothing more but to live a healthy and peaceful life. I wasn’t going to get it living that lifestyle that’s for sure.

Like I stated I was semi-organic because all my hair products were 100%. The problem was that I was taken good care of my hair but not my body. So I decided to make a change to live a 100% organic lifestyle. With that lifestyle I also came to find that I was spending so much money on various products, clothing, accessories, etc. I brought myself a budget book and started calculating how much money was spent not on my bills but on “JUNK” every month. I was sick to my stomach when I saw the numbers. I made a slow change which started with the food I was eating. I don’t eat out as much unless it’s a special occasion or to treat myself. You’re probably wondering what I did with all my things, right. Well here goes, I throw them away. (LOL) Wherever could not be donated to friends or family.  I am going to use them until there is nothing left or use as much as I could. Just to ensure I that I don’t waste my money. These things aren’t cheap you know. The next thing I did was made a list of things that is needed to be replaced.

Just so we are clear I am not a vegan I still eat meat and although I am not a big fan of red meat, I love chicken or fish. I am simply making a positive change to my lifestyle so that I could be a healthier me. Hear are my beauty products that I am giving away or using up.  it might seem small because prior to this I had declutter my makeup and that’s what I was left with. keep in mind that most product that are BB and CC creams have less harmful chemicals in them therefore making them a little healthier to use. so if you don’t want to go green all the way this is a healthier alternative. Most popular beauty brand have change some of their products making them with less harmful chemicals including nail polish brands. For a list of nail polish brands that have changed their formula check out my post decluttering​ my nail polish collection.

Here are some harmful chemicals found in most popular beauty products today:

  • synthetic colors can be defined as- FD&C Blue No. 1 (Brilliant Blue FCF), FD&C Blue No. 2 (Indigotine), FD&C Green No. 3 (Fast Green FCF), FD&C Red No. 3 (Erythrosine), FD&C Yellow No. 5 (Tartrazine), and FD&C Yellow No. 6 (Sunset Yellow). For more information on this check out the FDA’s website. These chemicals are used to add pigment to most cosmetics products.
  • Butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) and the related compound butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT)- They add this to food and cosmetics that that are fatty. They help to maintain the color and the smell as well as the taste. They can also be used as an antioxidant. This may also cause Cancer so make sure you read the labels carefully.
  • Petrolatum is a locks in moisture in most beauty creams it also adds shines. Sounds great right? This can also cause skin irritation and allergies can occur if polluted with polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs)-

There are many others but there are too many to names. I will say this if you find the products your using to work well for you and you don’t care to go green then so be it. What I am saying is that I chose this lifestyle because I am tired of the negative cloud that was following me.  I might be going too far by getting rid of all my beauty product but making a change was the best decision I have made and I will never look back.

Ps. I will be doing a follow-up post showing swatches of all my green beauty including nail polish remover, toothbrush etc.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Going Green

  1. I understand what your saying but my problem is the money buying all new beauty products and some of them might not work and they are kind of on the expensive side. well I will say this, i will try some of the products as testers them make my decision.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

