Decluttering my polish collection

It’s hard to become a minimalist but that not what I am trying to do here. I don’t want to be able to fit all my things in one suitcase but I would love to live a clutter free and positive lifestyle.

Where do I begin? Let me start with my polish collection. Before I get into that let me tell you how I got addicted to nail polish. For as long as I could remember I have always loved painting my nails. I am thankful to have been blessed with strong healthy nails. My polish collection started at a young age and I must admit I have a problem. Yes I am a hoarder of nail polish. Some of my polish I don’t use because I just like the way they look. Not to mention how toxic and harmful they are to my nails. I started with the dollar polish then worked my way to drugstore brands. Here I am 2017 wishing I could return them all and putting that money to good use.

To ensure I don’t go crazy I am starting with one brand at a time. Some polish will be given away to friends and donated to a nail salon. As for the ones I am keeping I am going to use them until they are finished. Once I am done I am going to transition to organic polish. Some nail polish range from 3-free, 5-free to 7-free to vegan. This means the number of chemicals they are free of. The more the better it is. I am going to stay between 5-free, 7-free and vegan.

Here are the top 5 harmful chemicals found in most nail polish.

  1. DBP (Dibutyl Phthalate) this helps stop chipping of the polish.
  2. Toluene.
  3. Formaldehyde is what harden the polish.
  4. Formaldehyde resin
  5. Camphor

Don’t take my word for it do your own research. Trust me you will be surprised what some of these chemicals can do to your health. Your remover also has a lot of harmful chemicals that is hazardous to your health. I know acetone is good for removing glitter polish but you might want to consider using a safer remover.

Let me start with Essie polish:

  1. Modern moiselle
  2. -Aruba Blue
  3. -Quick-e/ fast dry not really a color but it’s included
  4. Belugaria
  5. Set in stones
  6. Ladylike
  7. Jazzy jubilant
  8. Lots of lux
  9. Hors d’oeuvres
  10. Ignite the night
  11. -Coat couture
  12. -Tuck it in my tux
  13. Forever yummy

Now L’Oréal

  1. Jenifer’s nude
  2. Spice things up
  3. Sexy in sequiens
  4. Crazy for chic

Now OPI

  1. Sometimes about spring
  2. Bubble bath
  3. Who are you calling a shrimp!
  4. Can’t find my czechbook
  5. I just can’t COPE-ACABANA

Next is Sally Hansen I only have 6 colors from this brand and Revlon is only 4 colors. Wow! That a lot. I want to have three piles a yes, no and maybe pile. I wish they could all stay in the yes pile but they must go. Be strong Charley, be strong. Now I am not saying that I am going to trash everything and start over, No. What I am doing is getting rid of the ones I don’t need and save some money. Also Some of these polish are 5 free and three free brands which still has harmful chemicals but it’s better than the ones with lot’s of chemicals in it. In short I  don’t see the point of have the same colors in different brands. Example is: how many different clear nail polish do I need when they all do the same thing. I am going to be making better choices when it comes to my beauty and health.

Below is a list of 3, 5 and 7 free nail polish. There are more but I am only naming a few brands.

3- Free

  1. Essie
  2. OPI

5-Free

  1. Zoya
  2. RGB
  3. Ella+Mila

7-Free

  1. Pacifica

 

9 thoughts on “Decluttering my polish collection

  1. Wow who knew but you know something there’s also things out there that’s bad for you but I like what you said you’re not trying to stop using everything cuz then you will go crazy what you’re trying to do is be smarter when it comes to your health

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Decluttering, a woman after my own heart. This is one of my favorite topics as I’ve been in the midst of decluttering since last summer. Sounds like you have a good plan with your nail polishes. Best of luck to you. Will you be planning to do a review post on the less harmful polishes? I’d be interested in your feedback on them. I was shocked to find how many harmful chemicals are in nail polish and never even considered polish remover.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

